# WYANDANCH UNION FREE SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES OF SPECIAL SESSION HELD ON APRIL 25, 2023 CENTRAL ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 1445 DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. BOULEVARD WYANDANCH, NEW YORK 11798

### THIS MEETING WAS HELD IN PERSON IN THE LARGE BOARD ROOM, LIVESTREAMED ON ZOOM AND BROADCASTED ON THE DISTRICT'S OFFICIAL FACEBOOK PAGE.

The meeting was called to order by President Morris at 5:36 PM and asked for a moment of silence.

Roll Call:Performed by Jessica Reed, District ClerkTrustees Present<br/>(in person):Jarod B. Morris, Nancy Holliday, Shirley Baker, Charlie B.<br/>Reed, Latesha Walker

Trustees Present (virtually/teleconference):

Others Present:

Al Chase and Jessica Reed

**ADOPT THE AGENDA** 

Motion by Reed, second by Baker to adopt the agenda.

Motion carried 5-0-0

WELCOME BY BOARD PRESIDENT

President Morris welcomed everyone to the special session and thanked everyone for attending.

READING OF MISSION STATEMENT

APRIL 25, 2023 / Special Session

President Morris asked everyone to stand and recite the mission statement:

"Inspire the passion for learning and educating all students to achieve their full potential."

#### **BOARD OF EDUCATION #1**

#### **Resolution Recommendations**

BOCES Vote Mrs. Michele Kustera

#### **RESOLUTION:**

**BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Board of Education of Wyandanch Union Free School District cast one vote to fill one vacancy on the Board of Cooperative Educational Services with the name of Mrs. Michele Kustera for a two-year term commencing July 1, 2023

#### Motion by Reed, second by Baker

Motion carried 5-0-0

VOTE DREARDOWN DT TROSTEE			
Trustee Name	In Favor	Opposed	Abstaining
President Jarod B. Morris	X	)	
Vice President Nancy Holliday	X		
Trustee Shirley Baker	X		
Trustee James Crawford			
Trustee Charlie B. Reed	X		
Trustee Latesha S. Walker	X		

# VOTE BREAKDOWN BY TRUSTEE

# **BOARD OF EDUCATION #2**

#### **BOCES vote Mrs. Jeannette Santos**

#### **RESOLUTION:**

**BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Board of Education of Wyandanch Union Free School District cast one vote to fill one vacancy on the Board of Cooperative Educational Services with the name of Mrs. Jeannette Santos for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2023

#### Motion by Reed, second by Baker

Motion carried 5-0-0

APRIL 25, 2023 / Special Session

# **VOTE BREAKDOWN BY TRUSTEE**

Trustee Name	In Favor	Opposed	Abstaining
President Jarod B. Morris	X		
Vice President Nancy Holliday	X		
Trustee Shirley Baker	X		
Trustee James Crawford			
Trustee Charlie B. Reed	X		
Trustee Latesha S. Walker	X		

# **BOARD OF EDUCATION #3**

# BOCES Vote Mr. Peter Wunsch

# **RESOLUTION:**

**BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Board of Education of Wyandanch Union Free School District cast one vote to fill one vacancy on the Board of Cooperative Educational Services with the name of Mr. Peter Wunsch for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2023

#### Motion by Baker, second by Walker

#### Motion carried 5-0-0

VOTE DREAKDOWN DT TROSTEE			
In Favor	Opposed	Abstaining	
X			
X			
X			
X			
X			

# VOTE BREAKDOWN BY TRUSTEE

# **BOARD OF EDUCATION #4**

# **BOCES 2023-2024 Administrative Budget**

# **RESOLUTION:**

**BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Board of Education of the Wyandanch Union Free School District voted to approve the 2023-2024 Administrative Budget for the Board of Cooperative Educational Services, Second Supervisory District of Suffolk County, (Western Suffolk BOCES) NY

YES X NO

Motion by Baker, second by Reed

Motion carried 4-0-0

APRIL 25, 2023 / Special Session

### **VOTE BREAKDOWN BY TRUSTEE**

Trustee Name	In Favor	Opposed	Abstaining
President Jarod B. Morris	X		
Vice President Nancy Holliday			
Trustee Shirley Baker	X		
Trustee James Crawford			
Trustee Charlie B. Reed	X		
Trustee Latesha S. Walker	X		

#### **BOARD OF EDUCATION #5-Amendment BoardDocs Ref: 6-A-5**

**Poll Inspectors** 

#### **RESOLUTION**

**RESOLVED,** that the following persons shall be appointed as Inspectors to the Board of Registration (voter registration, annual budget & trustee vote) for the 2022-2023 school year:

Brenda Moore, Chief Inspector Deborah Allen, Poll Inspector Kelly Brown, Poll Inspector Cheryl Battle, Poll Inspector Justine De Rosa, Poll Inspector Diane King, Poll Inspector Renee Lewis, Poll Inspector Adriana Indiana Bumpers, Poll Inspector Dolories Copeland, Poll Inspector Barbara Grant, Poll Inspector Marta Diaz, Poll Inspector /Spanish-speaking translator Florence Collins, Poll Inspector

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the appointed inspectors be compensated at an hourly rate of \$16.00 and that the Chief Inspector be compensated at an hourly rate of \$20.00.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that Rutha Bush is designated as Chairperson of the meeting election in accordance with Section 2026 of Education Law. She will be compensated at a rate of \$20.00 per hour.

Motion by Baker, second by Reed

Motion carried 4-0-0

VOTE BREAKDOWN BY TRUSTEE			
Trustee Name	In Favor	Opposed	Abstaining
APRIL 25, 2023 / Special Session			4 of 5

President Jarod B. Morris	X	
Vice President Nancy Holliday		
Trustee Shirley Baker	X	
Trustee James Crawford		
Trustee Charlie B. Reed	X	
Trustee Latesha S. Walker	X	

# ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn at 5:44pm by Walker, seconded by Reed Motion carried 5-0-0

# Minutes Recorded and Transcribed By District Clerk

**Date of Meeting:** 

April 25, 2023 SPECIAL SESSION

Jessica Reed